Week 3: Summer Cooking Challenge

One big, bad cooking machine not utilized nearly often enough: the grill. Although I do feel somewhat terrible asking my ever-so-willing husband to fire it up in the sweltering 80 degree+ Michigan summer, I’d be lying if I claimed I didn’t enjoy the break from cooking on the stove top or oven. Sorry love.

In an effort to get grillin’, I unfroze some pork chops I’d gotten on discount at my local grocery store a month or so ago. Soaked them in a marinade of porter beer (for the win!), salt, and pepper. I found a half leftover onion in the fridge from the pool party the weekend before, sliced it up, and had him grill it in a veggie pan with some frozen green beans. Bada-boom, bada-bing: dinner is served!

The pork chops were excellent from the beer marinade, although I will say I had forgotten how little pork meat is actually on the chop. We may each need two next time, by the time we cut away the fat and bone.

The veggies grilled up beautifully, drizzled with garlic olive oil, salt, and pepper. I like to add in a few red pepper flakes for spice too.

All-in-all, a very affordable meal at around $3 a plate; PLUS no heating up the house!

What’s your favorite meat to grill?

-thriftyhollander

Leave a Reply

