Around the World Cooking Challenge: Thailand

One of my husband and I’s favorite take out foods: Thai. We typically stick with the usual, Chicken Curry Pad Thai, although once and a while I’ll spice it up with my next favorite: Chicken Pad Prik. This time, I wanted to experiment to see if I could cook Thai food at home myself – a task I’d never attempted.

I decided to go the “easy” route, as they say, and I had purchased a Pad Thai sauce rather than making it from scratch. Maybe I’ll try 100% homemade next time.

img_20170118_190929.jpg

The verdict: we both loved it! We hardly even spoke throughout the meal, we were so busy eating. It took only about a half hour of cooking time from start to finish, and it was absolutely delicious. The below recipe is to feed two people (plus I had leftovers for lunch the next day).

INGREDIENTS
1/2 box of Thai rice noodles
3 chicken breasts, thin cut
2 eggs
4 green onion stalks, chopped
Pad Thai sauce (from a can or homemade)
handful of peanuts, chopped
cilantro to taste
red pepper flakes to taste
lime juice

DIRECTIONS
Bring Thai rice noodles to a boil 8-10 minutes. Drain and rinse. Flavor chicken as desired (I used generous salt & pepper) and fully cook on a pan with hot olive oil. Chop chicken into thin slices. Scramble the eggs in large saute pan and set aside. Combine noodles, chicken, Pad Thai sauce, and green onion in skillet for about 4-5 minutes or until noodles are tender. Add scrambled eggs and red pepper flakes to taste (we like ours medium+). Saute together around 1 minute. Plate and decorate with peanuts, cilantro and lime juice.

img_20170118_192409.jpg

Enjoy! Please share this or other Thai recipes you’ve made (or would like to challenge me to make)!

-thrifty hollander

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

