Pumpkin Carving Leftovers

It’s that time of year when the air cools and candy flows freely among young and old alike, of which one of my very favorite budget-friendly pastimes occupies a few good hours of an otherwise bleak , chilly weeknight: pumpkin carving.

We found a roadside pumpkin patch to pick out our pumpkins ($3 and $2, respectively) and warmed them up overnight. The pumpkin carving process is taken very seriously in our home…my husband even got the drill out!

Of course, we had to make good use of the insides of the pumpkin. Throw them out? Not a chance! We separated the seeds from the “goop,” and I tried a few of the recipes from this 18 Ways to Roast Pumpkin Seeds (eighteen, whaaaat!?) article – I highly recommend the Honey Sriracha Roasted Pumpkin Seeds. I bought an additional medium sized pumpkin at the patch, which I also gutted out, roasted, scooped out (like a squash), and tossed into my blender to make about 3 cups of delectable smooth puree. Much more wallet-friendly than buying cans of pumpkin at three bucks a pop! I’ve frozen it for use in a pumpkin pie, pumpkin soup, or, for a low-cal option, these incredible pumpkin meatballs by Joy Bauer.

Here’s how our pumpkins ended up. After moving into my new husband’s house, I was unable to locate the high-tech carving kit I purchased last year – half priced after Halloween, of course; here’s hoping I’ll find it by next year. Unfortunately, my house numbers (below on the right) didn’t quite end up as I had imagined. You can see our two cats are making their introduction to the blogosphere – Benvolio sees something outside, and Claudio is enthralled with my husband’s ghost-carving handiwork.

img_20161028_201724.jpg

Post your festive pumpkin ideas – I’d love to see what you’ve come up with!

-thrifty hollander

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

