Apple Ginger Spritzers – a fall delight

This past weekend, we had a few friends over for a “goodbye summer” get together. Tasks for the day: a last swim/float in our pool, eat, drink, enjoy the last of summer and be merry. We devoured lemon chicken skewers on the grill, watermelon, chips and salsa, pasta salad, grilled asparagus and took in our first fire of the season. Of course, one fall element was to be tied in: apple ginger spritzers.

I had to get the most out of the free apples from my in-laws (remember the apple crisp from last week?!), so I was determined to incorporate them into our bash. After sifting through countless apple dessert, main entrée and side dish recipes online, the conclusion that a drink was a much better utilization of the gorgeous green and reds. However, many of the recipes called for simple syrup (I was not about to go to that effort), a liquor I’ve never heard of (or that is far too costly for this Dutch gal), or simply didn’t sound good. So I created my own concoction.

I found six larger sized apples and cut them into chunks, spritzed them with lemon juice to keep them from turning brown, and drizzled the apple chunks with raw honey for sweetness. Then, I poured what we had remaining of the fifth of Captain Morgan in the pot and let the apple chunks soak for 2 hours. In went some apple cider, hard ginger beer and club soda for fizziness. Compliments from our visitors confirmed this recipe was one to keep. It was both refreshing (outside temperature did get quite hot for a little while during the afternoon hours), a beautiful fall drink, and, bonus – the apples served as a nutritious “holdover” until dinner. I figured I had to share this phenom with the rest of the world.

apple-ginger-spritzer

The recipe below is very loose, as I typically don’t believe in measuring (unless I’m going off a recipe already created. Can’t mess with that).

Apple Ginger Spritzers

6 larger sized apples
¼ c. raw honey
3 c. Captain Morgan
2 c. apple cider
1 can/bottle hard ginger beer
1 small bottle club soda

Easily serves 10 large size (18 oz?) servings

Tweak as you see fit. I’d love to hear your success stories!

-thrifty hollander

Leave a Reply

